The Recall Desk
HighFDA (Food)·F-1151-2018·Announced 2018-05-09

Wysong Recalls Protein Key Meals Due to Undeclared Soy Allergen

Wysong Corporation is voluntarily recalling Protein Key brand protein meals because they contain undeclared soy, a major food allergen.

What this means for you

Real risk of harm even if no illness or injury has been reported yet. Stop using the product and follow the agency's guidance.

Our severity reasoning: The recall involves allergen mislabeling on a common allergen (soy), which corresponds to a severity score of 3 (High) according to the rubric.

Plain-English summary

Wysong Corporation is conducting a voluntary recall of multiple varieties of Protein Key brand protein meals. The recall is being issued because the products contain undeclared soy, which is a major food allergen.

The affected products are sold in 2.5 lb and 400 g plastic containers. The specific variety identified in the recall notice is Bone & Joint Chocolate. The total quantity of product involved is 55.3 lbs. The recall covers products with lot codes ranging from 042016 to 042018, which correspond to expiration dates within that period.

Consumers who have purchased these products should stop using them. Individuals with a soy allergy should be particularly cautious. The source text does not specify the exact distribution locations or provide a list of retail stores where the product was sold.

The recalled product

Product
Protein key brand Protein Meals varieties, 2.5 lb plastic container and 400 g plastic container, Varieties: Bone & Joint Chocolate
Manufacturer
Wysong Corporation

Is your product affected?

Check your packaging against the codes below. If any of them match, the product is part of this recall.

Lot numbers (1)

  • All varieties come in chocolate and plain flavors

Distribution

Distribution scope not specified by the agency.

Part of a larger recall action

This product is one of 25 recalled by Wysong Corporation under a single FDA (Food) recall action. The agency files each product separately, so the size of the action is not visible from this page alone.

See all 25 products in this recall →