The Recall Desk
CriticalFDA (Food)·F-2608-2017·Announced 2017-07-26

YouBar Recalls Goji Crisp Protein Bars Due to Listeria Risk

YouBar is recalling POZZIBLE Goji Crisp protein bars because the cashew butter ingredient is under recall for potential Listeria monocytogenes contamination.

What this means for you

Highest-severity recall. Risk of serious injury or death is documented or strongly suspected. Stop using the product now and follow the agency's instructions.

Our severity reasoning: The agency classification is FDA Class I, which mandates a severity score of 5 according to the rubric, as Class I recalls involve a reasonable probability of serious adverse health consequences or death.

Plain-English summary

YouBar Inc. is recalling POZZIBLE Goji Crisp 20 g protein bars (2.25 oz / 64 g) because the cashew butter used in the product is under recall due to the potential for Listeria monocytogenes contamination. The affected product is labeled as gluten-free and contains no added sugar.

The recall involves 5,256 units of the product with code 1047-01 and an expiration date of 10/11/2017. The firm was notified by its supplier regarding the contamination risk in the cashew butter ingredient.

Consumers who have purchased these specific protein bars should stop consuming them and check their expiration dates and product codes to determine if they are affected. The source text does not specify a distribution region or provide instructions for disposal or refund.

The recalled product

Product
POZZIBLE Goji Crisp; 20 g protein bar; Gluten Free; no Sugar added 2.25 oz. (64 g) YouBar Inc. Monterey Park, CA.
Manufacturer
YouBar
Hazard
Affected units
5,256

Is your product affected?

Check your packaging against the codes below. If any of them match, the product is part of this recall.

Lot numbers (1)

  • 1047-01 Expiration date: 10/11/2017

Distribution

Distribution scope not specified by the agency.

Part of a larger recall action

This product is one of 33 recalled by YouBar under a single FDA (Food) recall action. The agency files each product separately, so the size of the action is not visible from this page alone.

See all 33 products in this recall →