The Recall Desk
CriticalFDA (Food)·F-0433-2019·Announced 2018-11-21

Working Cow Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Recalled for Listeria Risk

Working Cow Homemade Inc. is recalling 856 tubs of No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream due to potential Listeria monocytogenes contamination.

What this means for you

Highest-severity recall. Risk of serious injury or death is documented or strongly suspected. Stop using the product now and follow the agency's instructions.

Our severity reasoning: The agency classification is FDA Class I, which mandates a minimum severity score of 4, and the presence of Listeria monocytogenes, a high-risk pathogen, in a ready-to-eat food product typically warrants the highest severity rating due to the potential for serious health consequences.

Plain-English summary

Working Cow Homemade Inc. is recalling 856 tubs of No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream, 3 gallons, due to the potential for contamination with Listeria monocytogenes. The affected products have a "born on date" ranging from May 1, 2018, to May 31, 2018.

The recall is limited to US consignees, with no foreign or government consignees involved. The source text does not specify specific states or regions where the product was distributed.

Consumers who have purchased this product should check their freezers for tubs matching the description and date range. If found, they should discard the product or return it to the place of purchase. The source text does not provide specific instructions for disposal or refund procedures beyond the standard recall context.

The recalled product

Product
No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream, 3 gallons
Hazard
Affected units
856

Is your product affected?

Check your packaging against the codes below. If any of them match, the product is part of this recall.

Lot numbers (1)

  • "born on date" of 5/01/2018 - 5/31/2018

Distribution

Distribution scope not specified by the agency.

Part of a larger recall action

This product is one of 172 recalled by Working Cow Homemade Inc. under a single FDA (Food) recall action. The agency files each product separately, so the size of the action is not visible from this page alone.

See all 172 products in this recall →